The 507 Effect – Obamanation

It’s official, Obama is the new President Elect and we are witnessing a historic event.  This is the kind of man that will one day be put onto our money.  There are a lot of lofty words to be thrown around on this occasion, and I will leave that to the pundits.  But even with my innate distrust of our politicians, I am still struck by the depth of this moment.  Can you feel it?  The torch has passed to a new generation.  Of course, he must now tread through the Bush minefield, but that will come later, for now let me appreciate this changing of the guard.  I know that getting out of Iraq is going to be a bitch that is gonna take years, I know that the economy has tanked, I know that the earth’s ecology is changing.  I even know that the ability of one man to change it, especially one man who is beholden to corporate interests, is very minimal.  But I also know that America has taken a great fall in our standing of the world.  As a nation we were caricturized by Bush, ignorant, mean, greedy.  Now, we truly have a fresh slate and the world may see us as a nation changing for the better, growing up and becoming mature.  Rascism is by no means over, but this is a milestone in terms of who has his or her finger on “the button”.  This is an Obamanation.

1 Comment

  1. Gary Lamont said,

    January 21, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    I am a big supporter of change but I won’t believe it until we see it. Action does speak much louder than words and I’m tired of the American people becoming like muppets of what the media wants us to think and say.

    Narconon Vistabay


Leave a Reply

