My ideal birth….

Natalie and I are taking HypnoBirthing classes to prepare for the arrival of our first born son, Sol.  HypnoBirthing is a method of self or Birthing Partner induced hypnosis, that removes your mind from pain and discomfort .  One of our exercises was to envision what we think would be the perfect birthing experience.  So here goes….
I would like Natalie’s labor to be natural, not induced.  And it would be nice to transport to the birthing center without too much discomfort.  Hopefully Sol will be born at Sutter Birthing Center.  I envision Natalie relaxing in a tub while she is in the first stage, practicing big balloon breaths.  At this point I would be preparing the room and completing any paperwork that needs to be done.  As she enters stage 2 and begins her “J” breaths, she gets  on her hands and knees and allows her body to instinctually push Sol out.  I envision myself receiving my newborn son and saying a prayer over him, after which I immediately place him on his mothers chest.
After the appropriate time, I say another prayer and then cut the umbilical cord.  Sol is then cleaned and given back to Natalie and I who are now located in the bed.
At no time during the delivery is Natalie put under any medication or epidural.  The birth will be completely natural and will happen in perfect timing.  Our son will not rip or hurt his momma.  At no time will Natalie or I be made to feel dis-empowered or scared, and we will not be separated during the whole experience, from each other or Sol.  I will remain aware and near at all times, an active participant in the birth.
After Sol arrives, we will all 3 be left alone to meet and connect for the first time.  Sol will immediately begin breastfeeding earnestly and easily.  Natalie and I will have our celebration meal with our son present, and then when all is good we will leave and begin our lives together.

Aum

Leave a Reply

